What are you thankful for?

A question I have been asked more times than I can recall over the course of my life. Most of the time I have a ready made answer on stand by. But in order to be honest I need to look deeper and take better accountability of all that I have become over the last 4 decades.

So what am I thankful for? A lot, honestly. I am in my mid forties and have no medical issues. I have a great family and two massive Bernese Mountain Dogs that have grounded me in sanity since I retired from the U.S. Army. fall-dogs

I am thankful for the friends, those special men and women, in my life who have helped me grow and enrich myself. Today is the only day I am promised so I need to make the most of it. I try not to go to bed each night unless I accomplish one thing. Friends help. Whether it is from ideas or an actual helping hand.

I am exceedingly thankful for all of you reading this. Writing has been in my blood since I was a little kid. I began with little comic books that were goofy as anything. By 10th grade I won the student of the month award for writing a very bad horror novel (which I try to find and burn every time I go home but my mom has it hidden well). Being in the active duty army put my writing on the back burners for a while. I managed two books before the war in Afghanistan began and had no luck finding an agent.

By 2002 I went to war and had plenty of downtime so Armies of the Silver Mage was created. The writing industry changed and I self published a decade later, only to get contracts with two small publishers. 21 novels and several anthologies and short stories later, we are here. Now.

All in all I have lived a fairly good life and that, my friends, is what I have to be thankful for. Happy Thanksgiving to you all.

One thought on “What are you thankful for?

  1. Mike Boggia

    At my age, happy to have good health and especially for successful cataract surgery. Thankful for the rain today (desert) and for family and friends. Too many good things to really list. And our dogs, they keep us grounded.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

